Update from Africa Nazarene University

February 27, 2009 at 3:01 pm 1 comment

Hello from equatorial Africa!

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand” (Isaiah 41:10).

GOOD DAYS
As we close one month and look to the next we are enjoying good days on the campus of ANU. I have still not received an official word as to our enrollment for this trimester, but maybe that’s because I haven’t officially asked. However, there seems to be a full house in our chapels, lunchrooms, and on the buses. Life is busy and there seems to be a pretty good spirit about the place. It’s hard to believe that just one month from now we will be in the midst of final exams once again. The trimesters do roll right along.

FIELD TRIP
Last weekend Corey, Joe, and I made the 983-kilometer drive to the Western Province to represent the school at the district assembly there. Needless to say, it was a long trip in a short time (35 hours total). However, it was beautiful to see the mountains, valleys, and even stop and take pictures at the “You are now at the equator” sign where we were mobbed with locals who wanted to sell us their handcraft souvenirs of the occasion. Those of you who know what a fabulous love I have of shopping will not be surprised to hear that I wasn’t there long enough to make a purchase. A picture is enough of a memento for me. Driving the roads was also enough of an adventure to fill me with memories for quite some time.

We had an opportunity to meet some wonderful pastors and hear the report of Julius Omondi, the district superintendent that I had taught in Church History and Homiletics classes. It was nice to be in his church and home and observe him in his natural habitat. Though the challenges of the area are great, we left there encouraged that God is going to make His presence known through these modern day soldiers of the cross.

We did pick up one souvenir from the trip. We stayed in a hotel called “Happy Moments.” I think there probably needs to be a name change coming. The rooms were overpriced, had no water except what they brought in to us in a bucket, and served a breakfast the caused my two companions to become violently ill by the next day when we got home. For some reason I guess the Lord spared me from the ailment once again, but then I didn’t drink the fruit juice. I have learned to just use boiled water to make tea. The guys are fine now, but I think a wry smile will always come to their faces when someone mentions, “Happy Moments.”

TRIP PLANS
I met with the music group this week and had an opportunity to begin preparing them for travel to the states and what to expect when they would get there. Monday is going to be a big day for them. At that point two-thirds of their plane ticket money is due and we will nail down exactly who will be going and start a more narrow focus in our preparation. Today Mary Jane and I are going out to visit travel agencies to see what kind of a flight deal we can make for these students and us. We have a very limited budget for flights, so we are trusting the Lord to make a way for us to get where we need to be.

Next Friday we will be taking all those who have qualified for the trip to the American Embassy to have their visa interviews. This will be a very big day for us so we ask you to be in prayer with us. Each interview is $131 and we have no guarantee that all or any will be allowed to travel to the US. Again, we are just trusting God to open the doors for us. Once we get passed that point it is just a matter of collecting the rest of the flight money, getting our presentations ready, and focusing on orientation to American culture. Of course, there are little things like the rest of the trimester classes and final exams to consider as well. This next couple of weeks is going to be very interesting to say the least. I will be going ahead of the group to the US in May to apply for my Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) so I can drive the bus for our trip. I am in the process of studying for the exam already.

JOINING THE ANGLIANS
This Sunday I will be accompanying Shangilia to St. Michael’s Anglican Church in Ongata Rongai where they will sing and I will preach in the morning worship service. Mary Jane will be teaching a teenage Sunday School class in addition to getting the choir ready so I guess we will all be busy. It will be my first experience to preach in the denomination of John Wesley and I look forward to extending my focus of God’s family to a little wider view.

DOWN TIME
I look forward to tomorrow when we can just sleep in and rest up from the week’s activities. I didn’t get to do that very much as a pastor, but here on campus I get to have some Saturdays free and that is a nice perk. I can use the time to do some reading and preparing for next week as I fill in for Dr. Rod Reed, who is presenting a theological paper at a seminar in Anderson, Indiana. I will be teaching his Doctrine of Holiness class until he gets back. By the way, Dr. Reed is traveling with Rev. Gift Mtukwa for this seminar at Anderson University and Gift will be speaking at Anderson First Church of the Nazarene this Sunday morning. If you have opportunity to hear him (he is our university church pastor) and give him a taste of American hospitality I know he would love to meet you. Just tell him I sent you his way. It’s his first trip to America and I hope there is a bunch of snow (sorry about that for you who live there).

Well, I’d better wrap this up and get it in the mail. Well, I will as soon as the Internet comes back on. Such is life in Kenya…

Have a great weekend and a wonderful Lord’s Day!

Randy and Mary Jane James
Africa Nazarene University
Nairobi, Kenya

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Update from Africa Nazarene University Update from Africa Nazarene University

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mike  |  March 1, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Zebras close up

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 3,851 hits

