Update from Africa Nazarene University

February 23, 2009 at 1:51 pm Leave a comment

Habari ya asubuhi! (Good morning!)

“I know, O Lord, that a man’s life is not his own; for it is not for man to direct his steps. Correct me, Lord, but only with justice¾not in your anger, lest you reduce me to nothing” (Jeremiah 10:23-24).

Nawaletea salamu kutoka kwa Kiongozi wa chuo kikuu cha Africa Nazarene University Prof. Leah Marangu, pamoja na watu wote wema wa hicho chuo kikuu. (I bring you greetings from Prof. Leah Marangu, our Vice-Chancellor, and all the wonderful people at Africa Nazarene University.)

Now don’t get the idea that I am speaking fluently the language written above. This is a greeting I am working on presenting when I speak to churches and assemblies in the area. So many of our students speak so many languages and I do well to communicate in English. I guess I’m one of those old dogs that has a hard time with new tricks when it comes to Kiswahili.

GREETINGS TO NEW READERS
A number of new readers have been added to our newsletter mailing list this week and we welcome you. Our readership covers over 1000 homes, but I have no way of knowing how much farther this goes. Some districts and local churches have put our newsletter on their websites and once it gets into cyberspace it’s anyone’s guess who gets it. Anyway, we are happy for those who are new to us and for those who have been reading along with us from the start. We are always grateful for any comments and suggestions you may have to make these letters more interesting and informative. Many have expressed to me their appreciation for this weekly endeavor and we hope that new readers will also feel the same way.

NEW TRACK
We have a new walking/running track here and I am enjoying it. Since it’s still under construction it is just dirt and not always level in spots, but it’s a real treat to have a place like this to walk/run or whatever. I am making it my practice to do my walking on it in the mornings and do some light jogging on it in the evenings. This morning I was out there before daylight and out of the corner of my eye I saw an animal run going east as I was going west. It was much bigger than a dog and too fast for a cow so I wasn’t sure what it was. It was still pretty dark and I didn’t have my glasses on, but that’s the first sign of wildlife I have seen when being out and about in the dark. Upon telling my assistant, Rev. Constantino Magaya about it later, he told me he was dropping off his son for the school bus about that time at the front gate of the campus and heard a hyena howl. I’m hoping he was more scared of me than I was of him – and I hope it stays that way.

MUSIC TOUR
We are making progress, slowly by slowly. The Shangilia Singers are sounding great as they are learning new music, refining older songs, and getting ready for the big trip. We are now 98 days away from arriving in the US if all goes according to plan. The next big deadline for us is March 2nd because that’s the final cutoff date to see who is going to be making the trip with us. By that time we will know exactly who can apply for visas and who will need to get airline tickets. Those are no small items, but as we get closer to the deadlines the trip becomes more and more real.

We have had some wonderful news in the last week. First of all, we have received word of some financial gifts that are coming our way to help some of our students reach the necessary amount for their flights. To each person who has felt impressed to do this we say a big “THANK YOU!” You are making a wonderful difference that will never be forgotten. Secondly, I just received word that the Gallatin, Tennessee Church of the Nazarene is making available to us their 29-passenger bus for our tour. To be able to use only one vehicle and still be able to get all of our people and their luggage aboard is a true answer to prayer. THANK YOU also to the wonderful people of Gallatin. I will need to go through the channels to get a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) in order to chauffeur this gang, but we are confident that the Lord will help me in that area as well. It will bring back memories of driving the motor home when we were doing full-time revival work in years gone by.

Our slate for the tour is as follows:

May 28 – Leave Nairobi, Kenya
May 29 – Arrive in Indianapolis, Indiana
May 30 – Northeastern Indiana District Missionary Convention
May 31 (am) – Anderson, Indiana Southdale Church of the Nazarene
May 31 (pm) – Northeastern Indiana District Campmeeting
June 2-3 – Georgia District Missionary Convention
June 7 (am) – Gallatin, Tennessee First Church of the Nazarene
June 7 (pm) – Louisville, Kentucky Farmdale Church of the Nazarene
June 9 – New Albany, Indiana Christ Community Church of the Nazarene
June 10 – Hartford City, Indiana Church of the Nazarene
June 11 – Rockville, Indiana First Baptist Church
June 12 – Chicago Central District Missionary Convention
June 14 (am) – Kansas City, Missouri First Church of the Nazarene
June 14 (pm) – Olathe, Kansas College Church of the Nazarene
June 17 – Nashville, Tennessee Trevecca Community Church of the Nazarene
June 21 (am) – Leesburg, Florida First Church of the Nazarene
June 21 (pm) – Fort Myers, Florida First Church of the Nazarene
June 23 – Clearwater, Florida First Church of the Nazarene
June 24–July 1 – Orlando, Florida General Assembly of the Church of the Nazarene
July 1-5 (still uncertain) – Leave USA for Kenya
MID-TERMS
Already we are at that point where our mid-trimester exams are being given and graded. I know that the students aren’t always crazy about them, but then those of us who have to grade them don’t always get a great charge from them either. Still, it’s a necessary part of the process and it signals to us any red flags that we need to investigate with our students.

WESTERN PROVINCE
I am off today to visit the Western Province of Kenya to represent ANU in a district assembly of our denomination. It will be about an eight-hour drive each way, but I’ve got my sidekicks Corey Buttry and Joe Ladesic to keep me company. These young Americans got to visit Mombasa on the Indian Ocean last weekend and this weekend are covering the central and western parts of the country. What a joy to get to show off this beautiful land.

Well, I’d better get this launched into cyberspace. I hope you all have a wonderful weekend and a blessed Lord’s Day! Lord willing, we will be in touch next Friday.

Randy and Mary Jane James
Africa Nazarene University
Nairobi, Kenya

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Update from Africa Nazarene University Update from Africa Nazarene University

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Zebras close up

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 3,851 hits

