Update from Africa Nazarene University

January 30, 2009 at 12:45 pm Leave a comment

Habari asibuhi! (Good morning!)

“I was young and now I am old, yet I have never seen the righteous forsaken or their children begging bread. They are always generous and lend freely; their children will be blessed” (Psalm 37:25-26).

WONDERUL WEATHER
Even though much of the US is suffering from winter storms, we are enjoying almost perfect conditions. Sunny days and cool nights make a combination that anyone would envy. We even had a couple of nights of rain that helped to settle the dust and brighten up the flowers. Certainly Kenya has its share of problems, but one thing they have going for it is great weather. With skies like these and nights full of stars it’s hard to imagine any other climate being more agreeable.

CLOSE CALL
While driving on Langata Road in Nairobi on Saturday we happened upon a wreck in from of us that blocked the road. There was one car ahead of us on this two-lane road so we stopped to let them sort out the mess. Here in Kenya one doesn’t move the car off the road even for a fender-bender. Vehicles stay right where the wreck occurred, blocking all traffic until the officials arrive (who don’t have cars themselves, so it takes a while). In the lane next to us was a big dump truck full of stone. Suddenly, a careless bus driver rammed the stone truck in the back sending glass and debris everywhere. Though I was saddened for the driver of the bus and his passengers, I was thankful that he was not in our lane and that our little car was not the recipient of his impact. We would not have handled the crash nearly as well as the truck. God was sending his angels out for us once again.

HEAD ‘EM UP AND MOVE ‘EM OUT
That’s for all the old “Rawhide” fans. Coming home from our town campus after dark on Tuesday we turned on to Maasai Lodge Road and right into a herd of cows. This wasn’t an ordinary herd driven by a sleepy Maasai man; this was a regular cattle drive that would rival the old west. For nearly three kilometers we drove through the midst of the long horned beasts stretching from the tarmac junction all the way to mid John Marangu Boulevard (for those of you who have been here). We didn’t count them, but I would estimate their number at nearly a thousand¾seriously! Anyway, it had been kind of a slow day, so the excitement was appreciated.

THREE WEEKS DOWN
This next week our final exams are to be turned in. We have to turn them in within the first month of the trimester so external and internal examiners can review them before we can submit them to the students. It’s quite a process. I have yet to start preparing either of them, but will get on the task after classes are over tomorrow. Hopefully, by Wednesday I should have everything in order.

Since each trimester I teach classes I have never taught before I have to start from scratch with all my lecture notes, quizzes, and exams. So far I have taught Pastoral Counseling, Church History I & II, Homiletics, Preaching Lab, and now Synoptic Gospels and Revelation¾but none of the classes twice. I was just asked last night if I would be interested in teaching Christian Beliefs to our education majors in April, so I may be starting from scratch again. I guess it keeps me from getting bored with old material. The trimester is rolling right along and on Monday we start the fourth of the twelve weeks. Before we know it, May’s graduation day will be here.

ANU MUSIC TOUR
Mary Jane is practicing each week with the Shangilia Singers, the musical group we are planning to bring to the USA in May and June. The music is coming along, but we are slowly moving through the process of passports and visas. Sometimes it is like trying to push a rope.

There are prayer needs you can help us with in this area.
1. Pray that all the paperwork will go through smoothly and visas will be granted to our students.
2. Pray that our students will be able to raise the fees for their plane tickets. This is a huge obstacle for many and it is possible that some are just not going to be able to do it unless things change.
3. Pray with us that a door will open for inexpensive transportation for the group when we get to the US. Housing and travel will be our major expenses.
4. Pray that this trip will be spiritually beneficial to both those who hear their music and to our students themselves for participating in the experience.

Thanks for sharing in these needs with us. It will be a big boost to the faith of these young people when the Lord provides for their needs.

GMAIL
For the past few months I have been sending out this newsletter on both AOL and Gmail. This is most likely the last time I will be doing this. AOL is just getting harder to access here and sometimes I go for days and can’t seem to get on. I will send the newsletter in both formats this time, but only on Gmail after that. If you don’t receive the mailing next week, please let me know and we will make special arrangements for you to get it. This will eliminate people getting multiple copies each week also. I hope this will be better for all.

I am also on Facebook, but sometimes it is impossible to get into it. There are times I get friend requests that I can’t respond to because the computer set-up won’t let me. However, usually once a week or so I am able to get on. I just never know when. Please be patience with anything connected to Internet communication.

TILL LATER…
Well, that’s about all the news for now. I hope you all stay warm (in those snowy regions) and have a wonderful weekend! I will be preaching this Sunday at our church in Kwangare.

Be blessed and be a blessing!

Randy and Mary Jane James
Africa Nazarene University
Nairobi, Kenya

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Update from Africa Nazarene University Update from Africa Nazarene University

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 3,858 hits

