Update from Africa Nazarene University

August 2, 2008 at 9:13 am Leave a comment

Greetings from Africa!

“Now I want you to know, brothers, that what has happened to me has really served to advance the gospel” (Philippians 1:12).

HOME AT LAST
What a joy it is to be home from the hospital.  It’s a nice place to visit, but the old saying is true, “There’s no place like home.”  Before I give you the lowdown on my condition let me share with you about hospital life here. 

In many ways it is like being in the hospitals in the US, but there are some differences.  First of all, the power goes off 20-25 times a day.  Even more noticeable, there is no seat on the toilet in my bathroom.  Most noticeable of all there seemed to be something in my bed eating on my ankles.  I’ve got bites all over.  I never could see anything, but I’ve got the sores to prove it.

I had a battery of tests at Karen Hospital, the place I stayed, but I had to leave to take two of them.  The EEG was done at Nairobi Hospital and the MRI was done in Westland.  That means I got to see Nairobi in my pajamas.  I got into a van with another patient and we toured the town.  The whole trip lasted about five hours.

Still, all in all, it was a good experience – for a hospital stay.  The staff was very professional, very courteous, and very efficient.  Kenyans are an easy people to love.

As to my condition there is good news.  The incident had nothing to do with my previous mini-stroke, or any kind of tumor, or even an detacted retina – as some have suggested.  What the MRI determined was an inflamed occular nerve and a sinus infection that seemed to react in coordination with my heartbeat.  That accounts for the “flashing” experience.  When the incidents happen one eye becomes paralyzed and then I have double-vision.  It is somehow connected to my recurring atrial fibrillation, but we are not exactly sure how.  The end result is that I now take antibiotics for ten days and all should be well.  Pretty neat, huh?  Isn’t God good!  Thank you all so much for your prayers and concern.  We sense your love a continent away.

BAD NEWS
Back at ANU I received word while I was in the hospital that two workers had fallen while working on the new Helstrom building and one died.  I don’t know any details at this point beyond that, but it is the first fatality we have experienced among the construction crews since ANU began.  Please keep this situation in your prayers are well.

EXAMS UNDERWAY
I missed the last two days of my two classes, but I trust I have prepared my students well enough for the coming tests.  The next two weeks will be tough for the students – and then we get to grade everything.  It’s a normal part of the routine here, but its a very serious time in the life of the student body.

HOME FOR A PARTY
I got home from the hospital just in time for our appreciation party for our praise and worship team.  We had twenty-two of our kids in for an evening of food, laughter, and games.  They stayed until late, but it was nice to be around them again.  As a result, I slept in until 7:00 a.m. this morning.  That’s the latest I have done that in a long time.  It is good to be home.

SCHOLARSHIP TOUR
At present we are scheduled to be at Clearwater, Florida First Church of the Nazarene on December 7th (a.m.), Live Oak, Florida on December 14th (a.m.) and Middletown, Indiana on December 21st (a.m.).  If you are near and could join us for one of these services, please come by.  We will be driving north, so if you are somewhere along our path and would like to host us for a service on a Sunday night or Wednesday, please let me know.

Well, that’s about it for now.  If you are reading this it means the Internet connection here has finally come alive for us.  We’ve been having some problems.

Have a blessed Sunday.  Thanks so much for your prayers and the gifts we have received for our birthdays and anniversary.  You are loved and appreciated by the the James Gang.

The adventure continues…

Randy and Mary Jane James
Africa Nazarene University
Nairobi, Kenya

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Update from Africa Nazarene University Update from Africa Nazarene University

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Zebras close up

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 3,851 hits

