Update from Africa Nazarene University

June 6, 2008 at 6:38 am Leave a comment

Jambo! (Hello!)

“May the God who gives endurance and encouragement give you a spirit of unity among yourselves as you follow Christ Jesus, so that with one heart and mouth you may glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ” (Romans 15:5-6).

HELLO FROM EQUATORIAL AFRICA
I hope this has been a good week for you! It’s been a good, but busy one here. The weather has seemed to have found its level and is about the same every day. We have cool nights – cool enough to see my breath when I get up – and warm days in the 80’s. Things don’t change much in this department. I don’t guess we will see much in the way of rain until October. It’s going to be a dusty few months.

SATURDAY PRAYER BREAKFAST
My day began last Saturday by joining Dr. Rod Reed and attending the President’s Annual Prayer Breakfast. Since this country has only one president (only the government can have a president; schools and corporations cannot) this one was sponsored by the executive branch of the government. Shortly after we arrived the meeting was joined by President Kibaki, Vice-President Kalonzo, and Prime Minister Odinga. It was pretty amazing to be only two or three tables away from these heads of state. I could have hit them all with a spitball – although I’m pretty should I would not be writing this now if I had tried. Anyway, it was a good morning and really very spiritually based. It was an honor to be asked to attend.

SPECIAL GUESTS IN CHAPEL
This week we were honored to have our chancellor, Dr. Jerry Lambert, and the president of Nazarene Theological Seminary, Dr. Ron Benefiel, to speak to us in our chapel services. Both did an outstanding job and I believe our students will long remember these men of God and the focus they have for them and for the call to dedication to Christ they inspire. We will be taking Dr. Benefiel back to the airport tonight and then all of our special graduation guests will be gone. It’s been a joy to have them here, but now we can all get back to our normal routines – if there is such a thing.

FINAL EXAM TIME
Though we haven’t even reached the mid-term yet, our final exams are due to be turned in by Monday for each of our classes. I have begun work on mine, but have a long way to go to get them ready. So, it looks like I have a couple of busy days in the office ahead. Fortunately, I only have two meetings scheduled for today so hopefully I can baricade my door and try to knock them off before Saturday is over.

HIGH SCHOOL CHALLENGE
On Sunday I will be speaking at Murang’a High School. It is called a weekend challenge and I am not even really sure what that means at this point. I know that some of our students and praise team are leaving today and will be there all day Saturday as well. I will ride the bus for about two hours on Sunday morning and deliver the morning worship message. Each time I do this kind of thing it is an adventure and a learning experience. I will leave at around 7:00 a.m. and get home around 7:00 p.m. so it’s a good thing that my next busy day will not be until Tuesday.

LIFE AT HOME
Things are pretty normal around the homestead these days. Mary Jane is back to her old self and in fact I was greeted with the aroma of baking banana bread as I came in tonight from holding chapel at our town campus in Nairobi. It’s nice to have guests that come our way but nice also to just get back to doing what we do normally. I guess I’m getting a little set in my ways.

More landscaping is going on around our place. Our gardener here, Samuel, is really a craftsman. He has turned a dirt and rough landscape into a beautiful garden just ourside our window. People here work hard, but they truly have some amazing talent.

Our new room addition continues to make progress slowly. Things are not done quickly here. The project of adding a new bedroom for us began in December. I expect it should be ready to move into sometime by late summer or early fall. Things are not done in American fashion by any stretch of the imagination, but time is irrelevant in this culture. No matter how how I try, that’s probably not something I’m going to get used to.

STATESIDE IN DECEMBER
We are still making plans for our scholarship tour for this December and early January. Feel free to contact us at any time if you are interested in having us come your way. In the meantime, have a blessed weekend and a wonderful Lord’s Day! We look forward to hearing any news that you would like to send our way.

Till next Friday,

Kwa herini (Goodbye)!

Randy and Mary Jane James
Africa Nazarene University
Nairobi, Kenya

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Update From Africa Nazarene University Update from Africa Nazarene University

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 3,858 hits

